God is Absurdly Ridiculously Good

God is crazy.

Look at this weather! The sun is bright, breeze is blowing, flowers are blooming, green covers every hill, beautiful blue sky, a few white puffy things hanging out up there for no apparent reason, birds are chirping, (they’re getting twitterpated you know), and the breeze is so beautiful as I stand in the shade of this great pine tree.

20120422-140128.jpg

The people of God gathered together, they washed there faces clean, clothed themselves with fine garments, the children’s eyes are bright with joy, their teeth are brushed and their hair is tamed.

And so many colors! Every shade of green, brown, blue, pink, purple, red, yellow! Large plants and small plants, trees, grasses, shrubs, flowers; insects in the ground, birds and squirrels in the trees, and so much I have no names for, but which I know true lovers and observers of nature do know how to taxonomize.

It’s all just too good! God, do you not know what we did last night? Why did you let the sun rise on such a people?

Last night I was angry. I hated my parents, I hated myself, I hated my life, I hated everything. I ate a lot of chocolate.

God is too good. He has filled my heart again with gladness, because of the great glories he shows by the works of his fingers. Truly the heavens declare the glory of God.

My beloved is like a mighty cedar; birds make nests in his shade. I too will rest in his presence.

My beloved says to me, “Arise, my love, and come away with me! Behold, the winter is past, the rains have come and gone! Flowers are blooming and the air is full of singing!”

I will hide in my beloved. He is a mighty mountain, a refuge in times of trouble. Those who put their hope in Him will never be put to shame. He covers his children with his wings, and we rest without fear, though evil surrounds us on every side. Surely goodness and mercy will follow me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever!

O Lord, my God, when I in awesome wonder consider all the worlds thy hands have made – I see the stars, I hear the rolling thunder, thy power throughout the universe displayed – when I look down from lofty mountain grandeur and hear the brook and feel the gentle breeze – then sings my soul, my Savior God, to Thee: “HOW GREAT THOU ART!”

My heart will sing no other name. Jesus. Worthy is the Lamb who was slain to receive power and riches and honor and strength forever and ever. Alleluia. Amen.

I wish I could just sit here under this tree forever. Why would I want to do anything else? God is so absurdly ridiculously good to me. I don’t deserve any of this.

I just want to say: “I love you God! Thank you! I love you Jesus! You are so beautiful!”

If this is what heaven will be like, then maybe it won’t be so bad.

You can’t run away from Jesus, my dear brothers and sisters and friends! He will chase you down and be good to you no matter how much you know he shouldn’t love you. He loves you anyway.

O Lord, reveal yourself to a stiff-necked, hard-hearted, rebellious people! Have mercy upon us, O God! Save us from our foolishness!

What a good father you are. You are too good. And your love never fails. When we are faithless, you are faithful. I could sing of your love forever. I will open up my heart and let the Healer set me free. I’m happy to be in the truth, and I will daily lift my hands and sing of when your love came down!

Oh friends! How I yearn for you to know Him! How deep the Father’s love for us, how vast beyond all measure, that he would give his only Son – to make a wretch His treasure!

I will not boast in anything: no gifts, no power, no wisdom. But I WILL boast on Jesus Christ: his death and resurrection! Why should I gain from his reward? I cannot give an answer. But this I know, with all my heart: His wounds have paid my ransom.

Friends, believe in him! Trust in him! Hope in him! Don’t fight your creator, your Father who only loves you, who made you for perfect joy and peace in his presence, to enjoy everything he has done, everything he has made out of his unrestrainable creative joy!

My dear friends! Accept who you are! You are more evil and pathetic and worthy of death than you are willing to admit. But you are also loved so much more than you could possibly ever deserve, or even imagine. Your Father loves you! Your brother and king and savior, who substituted his life willingly for you, who absorbed all the destruction you had coming to you, like a great big spongy shield. He literally became a man just so he could literally die in the way you deserve, in your place, to set you free from death! Friends, let us now live on him! He literally came out of that grave with a resurrected body that would never again die, and he will give the same to us, if only we are willing to suffer like he did in defense of his good name! Let us not be ashamed of the one who loved us most! To live is Christ! To die is gain!

The day is coming when he will come back in power and glory, and all nations will tremble and hide themselves in the mountains. But even the mountains will not be able to hide them from The Father’s fury and wrath, because they despised and rejected his Son. So why fight God? Why mock his son? Rest in him. Let the world crucify you if it will. Sigh. Even so. Come Lord Jesus.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

